2018 Fantasy Supercross Season Preview

Fantasy Supercross

Welcome back to our 2018 coverage of RMFantasySX‘s Fantasy Supercross league! There are many changes to this year; from scoring changes in Supercross, to guys retiring/changing teams, to Supercross getting rid of the dumb semi-final races and going back to heat races. I’m super pumped to be covering for you guys again this year and cannot wait for A1 this Saturday!

As you may have heard, defending champ Ryan Dungey retired after the 2017 season. Dungey walks away from the sport in the discussion as one of the greatest of all time. While its sad to see him step away while arguably still in his prime, it opens up the field for this season to crown a new champ! Also walking away from the sport is Trey Canard, who announced his retirement this past July.  There are many possible contenders for 2018, from Eli Tomac to Ken Roczen to Jason Anderson. I’ll wait until later in this article to discuss that. Let’s get to the team changes and rosters for this year first.

2018 Teams

Factory HRC Honda:

Fantasy just got a whole lot better thanks to Monkey Knife Fight. With fast-paced games like Rapid Fire and Either/Or, it’s never been easier to play fantasy and win. New to MKF? Get Exclusive $100 Deposit Match + Free $5 Game

Ken Roczen – Roczen returns for his 2nd year on the Honda machine. Last’s year’s championship favorite was involved in a major crash at A2 and missed the rest of the season, dashing his hopes of finally winning it all. He’ll look to rebound in a wide open field in 2018.

Cole Seely – Last year’s 7th place finisher was well on his way to a Top-5 overall finish before missing 3 of the last four rounds due to injury. Seely will look to improve upon his two podium finishes in 2017.

Red Bull KTM:

Marvin Musquin – Musquin becomes the #1 rider on the Red Bull team following Dungey’s retirement. The 3rd place overall finisher last year is clearly a top contender this season.

Broc Tickle – Following the closing of the RCH Racing team, my son Aidan’s favorite rider Tickle(hehe) signed with Red Bull to essentially slide right into Dungey’s team slot. The former 250 champ has always had a ton of talent. I’m intrigued to see him on this team, easily the most talented he’s ever been on. A Top-5 finish is a realistic possibility for him this year.

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM:

Fantasy Supercross

My family and I got to hang out with the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Racing team at the Phoenix race last year.

Blake Baggett – Baggett will look to improve on his slow start in 2017 and better his 6th place overall finish. One of the nicest guys in Supercross, he’s a darkhorse pick to finish the season on the podium.

Benny Bloss – Bloss moves up to the 450 class full time in 2018 to replace Davi Millsaps.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna:

Jason Anderson – My pick to win it all last year, Anderson started slow but came on strong towards the end of the season to finish in 4th overall. He’s in the championship talk this year.

Dean Wilson – Wilson filled in admirably last year when Christophe Pourcel left the team, finishing 8th overall in the final standings. He gets another year aboard the Husky rocket.

Autotrader.com/Yoshimura Suzuki:

Justin Bogle – Bogle takes over as the #1 Factory Suzuki rider as JGR Racing becomes the factory team. Bogle, like Broc Tickle(hehe), lost his ride after RCH Racing closed down. He’ll look to improve upon a very disappointing 18th overall finish last year.

Weston Peick – Peick returns after racing only three races last year due to major injury. Notoriously known for beating up Vince Friese during a race, Peick has the talent and aggressiveness to land a couple of podiums.

Monster Energy Kawasaki:

Eli Tomac – Last year’s runner up is the favorite to win it all in 2018. He actually won more races in 2017 than champ Dungey(7-3), but his consistency lacked.

Josh Grant – The long time veteran is back for another year as the #2 rider on this team. He’ll look to improve upon his 10th place overall finish of last year.

Monster Energy/Knich Factory Yamaha:

Cooper Webb – Last year’s much hyped rookie, coming off a 2016 250 championship, had a mediocre first season. Webb only had one podium finish and missed a handful of races due to injury. He’ll look to rebound in his sophomore year.

Davi Millsaps – Millsaps leaves the RMATV/MC team to take Chad Reed’s spot on the Yamaha. He’ll miss the first six weeks of the season after suffering an injury in training.

Justin Barcia – Bam Bam’s career on a 450 hasn’t materialized like anyone thought it would. I personally expected at least one championship by now. Instead, he’ll be Millsap’s fill-in rider for the first six weeks of the season after nearly going privateer this year.

Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing Honda:

Justin Brayton – Brayton is back for his 2nd year with this team, looking to better his 12th place overall last year.

Jake Weimer – Weimer gets a full season ride after being a fill-in rider last year. He’s hoping to be ready for A1 after an offseason injury.

Vince Friese – “Dirty Vince” is back for another year.

Chad Reed Husqvarna:

Chad Reed – Reed goes back to financing his own team this year. Currently the only former champ in the series, the old man is still capable of winning a race or two and stealing some thunder from the young guys.


Who Can Win It All?

The Favorites:

The big four to me obviously are Eli Tomac, Marvin Musquin, Jason Anderson, and Ken Roczen. They are currently the fastest riders out there, and a threat to win any race. They won 12 of the 17 races last year. More than likely, one of these four will be the champion when the season is finished, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they are also the Top-4 in the standings.

Dark Horses:

My next four are Blake Baggett, Cole Seely, Broc Tickle, and Cooper Webb. Any/all of these four could surprise and end up atop the standings. They all have the talent to win it all and be a threat to podium every race.

Best of the Rest:

Any of these guys are a threat to podium or atleast get that Top-5 finish we are looking for in the league. Davi Millsaps, Dean Wilson, Chad Reed, Josh Grant, Justin Brayton, Justin Bogle, and Weston Peick all fall into this tier.


Rumor has it that Malcom Stewart will be running as a privateer this year. He is super fast in practices and qualifying, but hasn’t translated that to the main events yet. He’s a name to remember for those Wild Card spots though, as he usually makes the mains.

Although there is nothing in the news about him joining a team or racing again, Malcom’s more famous older brother James ‘Bubba’ Stewart has requested that the AMA reserve his #7 again this year.

Good luck on the season, enjoy yourselves, have fun, win some awesome prizes, and look for my article weekly! If you need advice or want to talk Supercross you can find me on Twitter at @ReganFP!











Stay up to date with the latest
Fake Pigskin fantasy news,
updates and exclusive offers!